Absorption coeficients for Hemholtz type absorbers

Post and discuss acoustic topics, Studio design, construction, and soundproofing here

Absorption coeficients for Hemholtz type absorbers

Postby Guy Staley » Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:02 am

Hi all!

I'm new here, but am quite happy to have found this forum as acoustics is a new passion of mine! I've been working professionally as a recording egineer since 1990, but have recently made the transition to studio owner. Woo hoo...er, I mean darn!

At any rate, I'm looking to build hemholtz type absorbers (i.e. - slat and/or perforated panel) and can't seem to find any data on calculating absorption coeficients. My instincts tell me that it's somehow directly proportional to perforation percentage, but that's as much as I can infer. Any help in this area would be most appreciated.

Cheers from wet and beautiful Seattle, WA.
Guy Staley

Postby Scott R. Foster » Fri Mar 05, 2004 11:34 am

Guy:

Here's some free advice guaranteed to worth what you paid to get in here:

Don't build a resonating absorber.

Use broadband absorption instead. Start with thick panels of cloth covered mineral fiber mounted across the diagonals of all corners running full hiegth [from floor to ceiling].

Good Luck!
SRF
Scott R. Foster

Re: Absorption coeficients for Hemholtz type absorbers

Postby Eric.Desart » Fri Mar 05, 2004 2:27 pm

Hi Guy

Guy Staley wrote:Hi all!

At any rate, I'm looking to build hemholtz type absorbers (i.e. - slat and/or perforated panel) and can't seem to find any data on calculating absorption coeficients. My instincts tell me that it's somehow directly proportional to perforation percentage, but that's as much as I can infer. Any help in this area would be most appreciated.

Cheers from wet and beautiful Seattle, WA.

The only thing is searching for analogue applications.