Acoustics in Domestic Enviroments

Post and discuss acoustic topics, Studio design, construction, and soundproofing here

Acoustics in Domestic Enviroments

Postby jcgwakefield » Sun Oct 07, 2012 4:15 pm

Hi there,

I am completely new to acoustics and know nothing about them, but wondered if any folks out there could give me some advice. I have no interest in building a sound studio but am interested in the way acoustics work in, shall we say, a domestic space.
I've spent a lot of time struggling to hear what people are saying in all sorts of spaces, domestic and commercial, due to in my opinion bad acoustics with sound bouncing of hard surfaces and being turned into random noise that seems to pierce my ear drums all at the same frequency.
Then just the other day I stood in the empty Churchill Theater in Bromley and was completely enchanted by what I can only call near perfect acoustics. Now I know theaters and concert venues are specifically designed to work this way, but I would like to know more about the...architecture of sound, what tricks and techniques can be applied to create this 'Perfect acoustics.'
I am hoping to own my own flat/apartment soon and would be interested to know what I could do here to create perfect acoustics, as I 'm intrigued to know how varying degrees of acoustic quality effect the sensation of being in a space.

A friend of mine told me you can actually get devices that will dampen sound in a room, and you can actually dampen sound too much so it can be as stranger and frustrating a sensation as have noise bouncing all those stylish hard furnishings you have that make your home look great but sound like an echo chamber!

If anyone can direct me to threads/books/resources of just general know how I would actually love to understand more about this and incorporate good acoustics into my home design. I'm not looking to play loud thumping music I would actually like to attain...a kind of acoustic nervana.

Thanks in advance.
jcgwakefield