Placement of Bass/corner Traps

Post and discuss acoustic topics, Studio design, construction, and soundproofing here

Placement of Bass/corner Traps

Postby Hulk » Sun Feb 15, 2004 8:18 pm

Hallo
This is my first post so be gentle :-) (I'm from Denmark so be gentle on my spelling and grammar too hehe!!)
My friend and I are building a studio in his garage. The control room is small only 8 fett long, 11 feet wide and 7 feet high and when we talk in the control room it sounds boomy already. Because of the size of the room the monitors has to be placed right up against a brick wall (I have uploaded a home made picture of the control room - use this link http://www.ocupload.tk and clik on Controlroom.JPG)
As you can see I have made dotted lines where it is possible to place corner traps but I don't think that is enough (please remember I'm a complete novice in the field of acoustics and only two months ago I thought that acoustics was a minor thing in a studio) so I want to place 2 or more home made bass traps (design made by Ethan Winer from Real Traps) The control room has wood floor and ceiling.

a) Since I don't have much room for corner traps is it generally a good solution to place Bass Traps in the control room??
b) Is there any (simple) way to make measurements so I roughly know how much area there has to be treated with bas traps and acoustic foam (pyramid shaped)
c) I read at studiotips.com that I could sit in the mix position and move a mirror along the walls and where I could see the monitors those areas needed acoustic treatment but would acoustic foam be enough??
d) Any advice is more than welcome!!

Thanks
_
Hulk
Hulk

Postby Bob » Sun Feb 15, 2004 10:38 pm

I don't know off hand how to measure it. http://www.etfacoustic.com/
I agree, measure first, add treatment second. Then compare both with software and humans.

Your room is 8'x11'x7' tall. That's 616 ft^3. That's a small room.